La principale accusation portée contre l’ex-président Sud-africain Jacob Zuma, émanant de plaintes de lanceurs d’alerte travaillant avec la Plateforme de Protection des Lanceurs d’Alerte en Afrique (PPLAAF) est celle de « State Capture » (captation d’Etat). Cette expression est largement utilisée en Afrique du Sud. La capture d’état est plus qu’une simple corruption. C’est un pillage des entreprises et des institutions nationales, impliquant une corruption des gens du pouvoir, ainsi que la modification des lois du pays, de sorte que tous travaillent dans l’intérêt de l’intérêt privé.

Au centre du système, la famille Gupta. Les trois frères Gupta sont arrivés en Afrique du Sud en provenance de l’Inde dans les années 1990 et ont transformé une entreprise de pièces d’ordinateur en un conglomérat dans les médias, les mines et les services professionnels. L’un des fils du président Zuma, Duduzane, a travaillé pour la famille.

Mosilo Mothepu est la première à avoir lancé l’alerte. Mothepu a été directrice général de Trillian Financial Advisory, une société de consulting Sud-africaine et une filiale de Trillian Capital. L’entreprise est détenue par Salim Essa, un associé de la famille Gupta.

Percevant que ses supérieurs lui mentaient au sujet des activités de la compagnie, Mothepu démissionne de Trillian en juin 2016. Bien qu’elle craigne des conséquences juridiques et la diffamation, Mothepu décide de prendre la parole. Elle envoie une lettre à Thuli Madonsela, l’ancien protecteur public, un médiateur dont l’indépendance est garantie par la constitution, qui a abouti à la publication en octobre 2016 de « State Capture », un rapport sur les liens entre la famille Gupta et le président Zuma. Elle témoigne ensuite devant le parlement Sud-africain en octobre 2017.

Le rapport « State of Capture » enquête sur des allégations de « conduite inappropriée et contraire à l’éthique de la part du président et d’autres fonctionnaires de l’État concernant des relations et une implication inappropriée de la famille Gupta dans la révocation et la nomination des ministres et directeurs d’entités publiques ». Le président Zuma a demandé, sans succès, une ordonnance du tribunal pour empêcher la publication du rapport le 14 octobre 2016, date du dernier jour de mandat de Madonsela.

Quelques jours après la publication du rapport de Madonsela, le président de Trillian, Tokyo Sexwale, annonce une vaste enquête interne sur les allégations de l’ancien dirigeant, confiée à l’avocat Geoff Budlender. L’enquête s’est terminée par la publication d’un rapport intitulé « The Budlender Report ».

La déclaration de Mothepu a ensuite été divulguée par une source inconnue au Sunday Times, qui publie en octobre 2016 un article exposant les liens entre la famille Gupta et le président Zuma. Le Sunday Times n’a pas réussi à confirmer que Mothepu n’était pas la source de la fuite, et elle a par la suite fait l’objet de poursuites judiciaires de la part de Trillian. Inspirée par l’action de Mothepu, une autre lanceuse d’alerte, également employée de Trillian, a décidé de prendre la parole : Bianca Goodson. Goodson a été directrice générale de Trillian Management, une autre filiale de Trillian Capital. Remarquant des activités suspectes, Goodson a quitté Trillian en avril 2016. Un an plus tard, Goodson a publié une déclaration détaillée sur les activités de Trillian par l’intermédiaire de PPLAAF et a témoigné devant le parlement Sud-africain en novembre 2017.

Au début de 2017, deux organisations, dont PPLAAF, ont reçu ce qu’on appelait alors les « GuptaLeaks » : des centaines de milliers de documents, courriels, etc. envoyés entre les Guptas et leurs associés, montrant l’étendue du contrôle de la famille Gupta sur les politiciens et les entreprises d’état et l’implication de nombreuses entreprises internationales dans les activités de la famille Gupta.

De nombreuses autres révélations ont été faites à propos de cette affaire, exposant des entreprises publiques Sud-africaines, telle que la compagnie d’électricité Eskom, et des firmes internationales comme HSBC et la société de conseil Mckinsey, entre autres. McKinsey a été impliqué dans l’obtention de contrats d’Eskom pour Trillian et a reçu des paiements illégaux de la part de l’entreprise.

Le 13 décembre 2017, une Haute Cour Sud-africaine ordonne au Président Zuma d’ouvrir une enquête judiciaire sur les allégations selon lesquelles lui et son fils Duduzane étaient impliqués dans la captation de l’Etat. Dans une décision distincte, la cour a déclaré que la tentative du président Zuma de bloquer la publication du rapport « State of Capture » par le Protecteur public était abusive. L’enquête gouvernementale a été officiellement lancée le 25 janvier 2018.

Le 16 janvier 2018, la succursale de McKinsey South Africa reçoit une ordonnance de saisie d’actifs initiée par l’Unité de confiscation d’actifs (AFU), qui fait partie de l’Autorité nationale des poursuites. Cette ordonnance découle du paiement illégal de l’argent de l’entreprise publique d’électricité Eskom à McKinsey et Trillian. McKinsey a eu 1,1 milliard de rands saisis et Trillian 95 millions de rands.

Le 19 janvier 2018, avec l’appui du PPLAAF, la Fédération Sud-africaine des syndicats (SAFTU), composée de 700.000 syndicalistes Sud-africains, a porté plainte contre Trillian pour recueillir des preuves à l’appui des accusations criminelles et des confiscations civiles, y compris la fraude. La PPLAAF a soutenu Goodson et Mothepu en leur fournissant un conseil juridique de leur choix et un soutien financier, en les assistant dans la préparation de leurs témoignages, en évaluant les risques encourus et en relatant leurs cas dans les médias nationaux et internationaux.

La PPLAAF s’est également associé aux médias Sud-africains amaBhungane et Daily Maverick pour fournir un accès aux GuptaLeaks via un portail unique - via le Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) avec le soutien de Finance Uncovered.

La PPLAAF a également travaillé avec l’équipe de l’AFU et de la SATFU qui a récemment franchi l’étape prometteuse consistant à saisir les actifs de Trillian considérés comme les fruits d’une criminalité présumée.


Au cœur de cette affaire sont les allégations que les Guptas ont eu une influence excessive sur la politique Sud-africaine, de laquelle ils ont profité pour changer les nominations politiques et obtenir des contrats gouvernementaux illégaux.

Selon l’ancien ministre des Finances, Pravin Gordhan, le fait que des entreprises publiques et d’autres institutions gouvernementales aient pillé leurs fonds a mené a ce que “150 milliards à 200 milliards de rands (11 à 15 milliards de dollars) ont été volés”.

Obtention illégale de contrats publics

Dans leurs témoignages, Mothepu et Goodson ont dévoilé comment Trillian utilisait ses liens pour obtenir illégalement des contrats gouvernementaux lucratifs. L’entreprise prévoyait de générer des revenus grâce à l’accès à des entités publiques telles que le fournisseur d’électricité Sud-africain Eskom et la société de logistique Transnet. Trillian utilisait ostensiblement des liens politiques pour créer et conclure de gros contrats pour des partenaires qui effectueraient le travail. En échange, l’entreprise a reçu jusqu’à 50% de la valeur du contrat.

Un défi juridique entre le PDG de Trillian et ses anciens partenaires a révélé comment Trillian aurait gagné des millions de rands de leur entreprise avec Transnet.

En outre, trois filiales de Trillian ont été nommées dans le rapport du protecteur public comme ayant contribué 235 millions de rands à l’acquisition par le consortium de la famille Gupta de la mine Optimum Coal, la mine de charbon qui alimente la centrale électrique d’Eskom.

Nominations politiques

Les dénonciateurs ont également révélé comment l’entreprise aurait poussé le ministre des Finances, Nhlanhla Nene, à être licencié et prévoyait d’exploiter l’accès au trésor national sous son remplaçant, Des van Rooyen. Le ministre a été licencié brusquement et remplacé par Van Rooyen, qui avait été dans une relation d’affaires avec les Guptas auparavant. Après avoir révélé les preuves sur l’enlèvement de Nene par les Guptas, Mothepu est devenu connu sous le surnom “ NeneGate Whistleblower”.

Dans un autre cas, le vice-ministre des Finances, Mcebisi Jonas, a déclaré dans un affidavit assermenté au protecteur public que l’un des frères Gupta lui avait offert plus de 40 millions de dollars s’il acceptait d’être nommé ministre des finances et de remplacer les principaux fonctionnaires du ministère. Quand il a refusé l’offre, on lui a offert 4M $ en espèces immédiatement pour lui faire changer d’avis.

Multinationales

Certaines des plus grandes entreprises mondiales se sont retrouvées empêtrées dans l’affaire de capture d’État et le travail qu’elles ont fait pour les Guptas.

Le vaste paysage des entreprises comprenait des sociétés fictives et utilisait des Etat aux règlementations opaques, comme Dubaï, pour faciliter le transfert d’argent et la réception des paiements illicites. D’autres entreprises, mais avec des activités réelles, servaient le même objectif parallèle. Ces entreprises opéraient esthétiquement à partir de Dubaï (Accurate, Global Corporation et Gateway, etc.) et d’Afrique du Sud (Trading Linkway, Mabengela, Elgasolve, Sahara, Oakbay) entre autres juridictions de Hong Kong au Lesotho et à Londres.

L’argent a été détourné des entités publiques telles que Transnet et Eskom et réaffecté a d’autres buts allant du gain personnel à des spectacles ostentatoires de pouvoir et de richesse.

KPMG, l’un des plus grands cabinets d’audit mondiaux, était l’auditeur de Linkway à une époque où l’entreprise détournait les fonds du projet Estina de Free State, conçu pour soutenir les petits producteurs laitiers noirs. Au lieu de cela, ces fonds ont été canalisés vers Dubaï et une partie de celui-ci est revenu pour le mariage de Guptas. Le cabinet s’est depuis excusé pour la “qualité” de son audit.

KPMG est un bénéficiaire important des contrats liés à Gupta. Le cabinet a rédigé un rapport à l’appui des affirmations selon lesquelles le Service du revenu de l’Afrique du Sud (SRAS) était devenu un « cabinet voyou ». Son rapport a conduit à la mise en accusation de Pravin Gordhan, ancien ministre des Finances. L’entreprise a depuis avoué n’avoir aucune preuve à l’appui du fait que Gordhan était au courant que l’unité « devenait un cabinet voyou » et a reconnu la contribution de KPMG à la capture d’état.

En conséquence, les dirigeants et partenaires de KPMG en Afrique du Sud ont quitté l’entreprise. KPMG a remboursé l’argent reçu pour avoir rédigé le rapport sur le SRAS et a donné des millions de dollars à des ONG.

Goodson a également révélé que le cabinet de conseil international McKinsey a travaillé pour Eskom. Les documents montrent que McKinsey a travaillé avec Trillian Capital dans le cadre de contrats remportés par le service public.

McKinsey dit qu’il n’a jamais conclu un contrat formel avec Trillian, et que des paiements n’ont jamais été effectués à la société, en montrant des lettres qui permettent des constater que McKinsey a averti Eskom qu’avoir une relation d’affaire avec Trillian est risqué.

Goodson, cependant, a montré que McKinsey a traité Trillian comme un « bagage indésirable » et a montré comment un représentant de McKinsey a déclaré que « [le développement de fournisseur] n’a pas vraiment d’importance tant que vous obtenez votre pourcentage ».

La banque internationale HSBC aurait omis de fermer des comptes liés aux Guptas bien que son personnel en Afrique du Sud les ait avertis d’activités suspectes.

Le cabinet de relations publiques Bell Pottinger a aidé les Guptas à qualifier les accusations contre eux comme ayant des antécédents racistes. L’entreprise a éprouvé de graves problèmes à maintenir ses clients et est actuellement en faillite.

SAP, une société de logiciels allemande, a lancé une enquête interne et a constaté que plus de 6 millions de dollars de commissions ont été versées à des entreprises liées aux Guptas pour des contrats avec des sociétés d’État. La société a envoyé les documents aux autorités américaines et a annoncé qu’elle ne paierait plus de commission aux employés de SAP qui obtiennent des contrats dans les pays ayant obtenu de mauvais résultats sur l’indice de perception de la corruption de Transparency International.

Pour plus d’information:

PPLAAF:

The Daily Maverick:

Financial Times:

South Africa whistleblower complains of political persecution, Joseph Cotterill, November 8th, 2017

Bloomberg:

McKinsey Letters Add Twist to South Africa Corruption Scandals, Sam Mkokeli, Janice Kew and Antony Sguzzain, October 3rd, 2017

BizNews:

7Q2:

amaBhungane:

ENCA:

Reuters:

The principal charge against South-African former President Jacob Zuma, originating with claims from whistleblowers working with the Platform to Protect Whistleblowers in Africa (PPLAAF) is of “state capture”. The local term is in widespread use. State capture is more than simple corruption. It is the pillage of national companies and institutions, corrupting the people of power, as well changing the country’s laws, so they would all work in the private interest’s interest.

The three Gupta brothers moved from India to South Africa in the 1990s and turned a computer parts business into a conglomerate with properties in media, mining and professional services. One of President Zuma’s sons, Duduzane, has worked for the family.

Mosilo Mothepu is the first whistleblower to have stepped forward. Mothepu served as Chief Executive Officer at Trillian Financial Advisory, a South-African consulting firm and a subsidiary of Trillian Capital. The firm is owned by Salim Essa, an associate of the Gupta family.

Feeling lied to by her superiors about the company’s activities, Mothepu resigned from Trillian in June 2016. Although she feared legal consequences and defamation, Mothepu decided to speak up. She sent a statement to Thuli Madonsela, the former Public Protector, an ombudsman whose independence is guaranteed by the constitution, which resulted in the publication in October 2016 of “State of Capture”, report on the links between the Gupta Family and President Zuma. She then testified in front of South-African parliament in October 2017.

The “State of Capture” report investigated claims of “alleged improper and unethical conduct by the president and other state functionaries relating to alleged improper relationships and involvement of the Gupta family in the removal and appointment of ministers and directors of State Owned Entities (SOEs) resulting in improper and possibly corrupt award of state contracts and benefits to the Gupta family’s businesses.” President Zuma unsuccessfully applied for a court order to prevent the publication of the report on 14 October 2016, Madonsela's last day in office.

Within days of Madonsela’s report publication, Trillian’s then-chairman, Tokyo Sexwale, announced a wide-ranging internal probe into the former executive’s allegations, led by attorney Geoff Budlender. The investigation ended in the publication of “The Budlender Report”.

Mothepu’s statement was then leaked by an unknown source to the Sunday Times which resulted in the publication in October 2016 of an article showing the links between the Gupta Family and President Zuma. The Sunday Times failed to confirm that Mothepu was not the source of the leak and she subsequently faced lawsuits from Trillian alleging cyber-crime, fraud, theft among other charges. Another Trillian whistleblower, inspired by Mothepu’s action, decided to speak up: Bianca Goodson. Goodson served as the Chief Executive Officer of Trillian Management, another subsidiary of Trillian Capital. Noticing shady activities as well, Goodson left Trillian in April 2016. A year later, Goodson released a detailed statement on Trillian’s activities through PPLAAF and testified in front of South- African parliament in November 2017.

In early 2017, two media organisations alongside PPLAAF received what was then called the ‘GuptaLeaks’: hundreds of thousands of documents, emails, etc. sent between the Guptas and their associates, showing the extent of the Gupta family’s control over politicians and state-owned companies, and the involvement of many international firms with the Gupta family’s businesses.

Many other revelations were made concerning the case, exposing government firms such as state-owned electricity-utility company Eskom and international firms HSBC and consulting firm Mckinsey, among others. McKinsey was involved in landing Eskom contracts for Trillian and received illegal payments from the company.

On December 13th , 2017, a South African high court ordered President Zuma to establish a judicial inquiry into the alleged claims that he and his son Duduzane were involved in state capture. In a separate ruling, the court stated President Zuma’s attempt to block the release of the “State of Capture” report by the Public Protector was abusive. The government investigation was officially launched on January 25th, 2018.

On January 16th , 2018, McKinsey South Africa’s branch has been served with an asset seizure order initiated by the Asset Forfeiture Unit, part of the National Prosecuting Authority. This order arises from the illegal payment of monies from state owned electricity utility, Eskom, to McKinsey and Trillian. McKinsey has had 1.1 billion rands seized and Trillian 95m rands.

On January 19th , 2018, with PPLAAF’s support, the South African Federation of Trade Unions (SAFTU), comprised of 700.000 South African union workers, filed charges against Trillian to gather evidence in support of both criminal charges and civil forfeiture including fraud, theft, corruption and money laundering. In another procedure, South Africa’s state-run Asset Forfeiture Unit (AFU) has moved to seize alleged illicitly obtained assets of Trillian.

PPLAAF stood by Goodson’s and Mothepu’s sides, providing them with a legal counsel of their choice and financial support, assisting them with their testimonies, evaluating the risks they faced and promoting their cases on national and international media.

PPLAAF has also partnered with South African media amaBhungane and Daily Maverick, to provide access to the GuptaLeaks through a single portal - Investigative Dashboard via the Organised Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP) with the support of Finance Uncovered.

PPLAAF has also worked with the AFU and SATFU team that recently achieved the promising milestone of seizing the assets of Trillian as being the suspected proceeds of crime.

At the heart of the affair are allegations that the Guptas had excessive influence over South African politics, from which they profited to shift political appointments and illegally land government contracts.

The result of the putting of state-owned enterprises and other governmental institutions in the hands of people looting their funds, according to ex-finance minister Pravin Gordhan, is that “150bn-200bn rand ($11bn-15bn) has been looted.

Illegal landing of government contracts

In their testimonies, Mothepu and Goodson unraveled how Trillian was using its connections to illegally land lucrative government contracts. The company planned to generate revenue through access to state-owned entities such as South African electricity supplier Eskom and logistics company Transnet. Trillian ostensibly used political connections to create and secure large deals for partners who would carry out the work. In exchange, the company received as much as 50% of the contract value.

A legal challenge between Trillian’s CEO and his former partners revealed how Trillian allegedly earned millions of rands from their business with Transnet.

In addition, three Trillian companies were named in the Public Protector report as having contributed an amount of 235-million rands towards the Gupta family consortium’s purchase of the Optimum Coal mine, the coal mine that supplies Eskom’s power station.

Political appointments

Also revealed by whistleblowers was how the firm allegedly pushed for the Finance minister Nhlanhla Nene being fired and planned to exploit access to the National Treasury under his replacement, Des van Rooyen. The minister was abruptly fired and replaced by Van Rooyen, who had been in a business relationship with the Guptas beforehand. Having revealed the evidence on Nene’s removal by the Guptas, Mothepu became known as the “NeneGate Whistleblower”.

In another case, deputy Finance minister Mcebisi Jonas stated in a sworn affidavit to the Public Protector that he had been offered over $40M by one of the Gupta brothers if he accepted to be nominated Finance minister and then replace key executives in the National Treasury. When he declined the offer, he was offered $4M in cash on spot for him to change his mind.

Global companies

Some of the biggest global companies in business found themselves entangled in the state capture affair and the work they did for the Guptas.

The vast corporate landscape included shell and pass-thru companies and used secrecy jurisdictions, such as Dubai, to facilitate money-moving and receive illicit payments. Other companies, with substantive performativity, served the same parallel purpose. These companies aesthetically operated out of Dubai (Accurate, Global Corporation and Gateway etc); South Africa (Linkway Trading, Mabengela, Elgasolve, Sahara, Oakbay) among other jurisdictions from Hong Kong to Lesotho and London.

The money was siphoned from state-owned entities such as Transnet and Eskomand repurposed or diverted for other means ranging from personal gain toostentatious shows of power and wealth.

KPMG, one of the biggest global audit companies, was Linkway’s auditor during a period where the company acted as a laundromat siphoning monies from the Free State’s Estina project, designed to support small black dairy farmers. Instead, monies were funneled to Dubai and part of it returned for the Guptas wedding. The firm has since apologized for the “quality” of its audit.

A significant beneficiary of Gupta-linked contracts, KPMG wrote a report supporting the claims that the South African Revenue Service (SARS) had “gone rogue”. Its report led to Pravin Gordhan, former Finance minister, being charged. The firm has since admitted they had no evidence to support the fact that Gordhan knew about the unit “going rogue” and acknowledged KPMG’s contribution to the “state capture”.

As a result, KPMG chief executives and partners in South Africa have left the firm. KPMG repaid the money it received for writing the report on SARS, and donated millions to NGOs.

Also revealed by Goodson is the information that international consulting firm McKinsey did highly-paid work for Eskom. Documents show that McKinsey worked with Trillian Capital as part of winning contracts from the utility.

McKinsey says it never entered into a formal contract with Trillian or made payments to the company, and there are letters showing that McKinsey warned Eskom that doing business with Trillian is risky.

Goodson, however, has shown evidence that McKinsey treated Trillian as an “unwanted piece of baggage” and showing how a McKinsey representative stated that “[supplier development] doesn’t really matter as long as you get your percentage”.

International Bank HSBC allegedly failed to close accounts that were linked to the Guptas although their South Africa staff warned them of suspicious activities.

Public relations firm Bell Pottinger helped the Guptas to brand the attacks on them as having a racial background. The firm experienced severe problems keeping clients as a result and is currently going into insolvency.

SAP, a German software firm, has launched an internal investigation and found that more than $6M of commissions were paid to companies linked with the Guptas for contracts with state-owned companies. The company sent the materials to American authorities and announced it will no longer pay commission to SAP employees securing contracts in countries scoring badly on Transparency International’s Corruption Perceptions Index.

For additional information:

PPLAAF:

The Daily Maverick:

Financial Times:

South Africa whistleblower complains of political persecution, Joseph Cotterill, November 8th, 2017

Bloomberg:

McKinsey Letters Add Twist to South Africa Corruption Scandals, Sam Mkokeli, Janice Kew and Antony Sguzzain, October 3rd, 2017

BizNews:

7Q2:

amaBhungane:

ENCA:

Reuters: