Foire aux questions

English Português العربية

Qui est lanceur d’alerte? Etes-vous un lanceur d’alerte? Comment pouvons-nous vous aider?

Le lancement d’alerte est un terme et un concept qui a différentes définitions dans le monde. Essentiellement, ce terme est utilisé quand un citoyen ou un employé rend public des actes dissimulés de corruption, d’injustice, d’abus de pouvoir ou de menaces à la santé publique. Ces actions ou omissions divulguées par le lanceur d’alerte peuvent être illégales, mais aussi immorales ou contraires à l’intérêt général.

Ce qui distingue le lancement d’alerte d’autres type de signalement c’est que les lanceurs d’alerte risquent, en raison de leur position, de souffrir d’actes de représailles et de vengeance, et que l’information dont ils disposent est cruciale pour faire cesser ou empêcher les actes répréhensibles, les scandales et autres menaces à l’intérêt général.

Un lanceur d’alerte peut être…

… un employé de banque qui a connaissance de systèmes en place dans sa banque permettant la commission d’actes de blanchiment d’argent ou d’évasion fiscale et qui décide de divulguer l’information à la police ou au public.

… un soldat témoin de crimes de guerre perpétrés par sa propre armée et qui décide de filmer les atrocités et diffuse la vidéo.

… un employé d’hôpital qui signale que des médecins vendent des soins et des médicaments qui sont supposés être gratuits et qui les dénoncent.

… un fonctionnaire qui découvre qu’une société privée a versé des pots de vin à des officiels gouvernementaux pour remporter un appel d’offre.

Le but de notre organisation, simplement, est d’aider à assurer que les personnes qui choisissent de faire ce qui est juste en défendant le bien commun ne soient pas obligées de le payer par leur citoyenneté, leur liberté, leur emploi, leur sécurité, leurs revenus ou même leur vie. A cette fin, PPLAAF joue le rôle d’intermédiaire en proposant une communauté d’experts internes et externes pour minimiser les obstacles, risques et périls qui se dressent dans la procédure du lancement d’alerte.

Quand avez-vous besoin d’une assistance juridique?

Vous devriez considérer à faire appel à une assistance ou des conseils juridiques, qui que vous soyez, si vous pensez signaler à des autorités ou divulguer au public des informations sur des activités criminelles, scandaleuses ou dangereuses – particulièrement si l’information à votre disposition est confidentielle ou classifiée.

Vous pourriez également avoir besoin d’une assistance juridique ou d’une représentation légale si vous avez déjà été identifié de façon privée ou publique comme un lanceur d’alerte. Partager des informations sensibles pourrait vous amener à violer la loi ou vous exposer à de graves risques si cela n’est pas fait avec des conseils juridiques et via un système technologique hautement sécurisé. .

N’hésitez pas à consulter notre page sur les ressources juridiques, nous avons peut-être effectué une recherche préliminaire sur le droit en vigueur dans votre pays.

Que devriez-vous faire si vous avez besoin d’une assistance juridique gratuite ?

Si vous pensez ou avez déjà divulgué des informations sensibles, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter via notre service de messagerie, notre portail en ligne ou notre hotline. Nous vous mettrons en contact avec le conseil juridique le plus approprié au niveau local ou international, et ce gratuitement.

Quand avez-vous besoin de l’aide de journalistes d’investigation, de médias ou d’ONG?

Nous vous recommandons de demander des conseils à notre équipe interne avant de contacter ou d’envoyer des informations à des médias ou des ONG. Nous pouvons vous conseiller sur la meilleure démarche à suivre. Dans certains cas, notre équipe juridique pourra, de votre part, se mettre en relation avec un média en particulier ou une ONG.

Bien qu’un média ou une ONG puissent être le meilleur vecteur pour divulguer une information liée à l’intérêt général, des mesures de précaution doivent être prises pour les approcher et pour décider quelle information envoyer. Nos équipes éditoriales et de plaidoyer peuvent vous aider à contacter les journalistes ou les ONG les plus à même de vous aider.

L’information que vous désirez divulguer pourra ne pas être suffisante pour caractériser le manquement ou la faute que vous cherchez à mettre en avant. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer cela en approfondissant les enquêtes.

Que devriez-vous considérer avant de divulguer une information à qui que ce soit ?

Signaler ou divulguer des informations internes, particulièrement si ces informations sont sensibles, peut poser de graves risques à votre emploi, votre profession, votre sécurité financière, votre réputation et même votre propre sécurité physique et celle de votre famille. Nous pouvons vous aider à évaluer les risques avant que vous ne preniez une décision qui pourrait avoir de graves conséquences imprévisibles.

En agissant dans la hâte, beaucoup d’employés et de citoyens ont divulgué des crimes ou des actes de corruption sans chercher auparavant des conseils professionnels. Nous sommes ici pour vous aider à éviter ce genre de problème.

Si vous avez plus de questions, merci de nous contacter à: info@pplaaf.org

Who is a whistleblower?

Whistleblowing is a term and a concept that carries different meanings around the world. At its basic level, it is when a citizen or employee exposes secretive acts of corruption, injustice, abuse of power or public health threats. The action or omission exposed by the whistleblower can be illegal, but it can also be immoral or against the general interest.

What distinguishes whistleblowing from other kinds of reporting is that whistleblowers are in the position to suffer retaliation and reprisals, and that the inside information they have is critical in halting or preventing crimes, scandals and other threats to the public well-being.

A whistleblower can be…

...a bank employee who learns of a money laundering or tax evasion scheme within the bank and reports the operation to police or the public.

…a soldier who witnesses war crimes being committed by his fellow troops, films the atrocities and releases the video.

…a hospital worker who reports that doctors are selling treatments and medications that are supposed to be free.

…a public employee who discovers that a company has bribed a government official in order to win a public contract.

We believe that the price of doing the right thing should not include sacrificing one’s life, freedom, family, income, job, career or health. In this capacity, PPLAAF plays the intermediary role by providing a community of in-house and external experts to ensure the the process of ‘blowing the whistle’ is removed of the perils and threats usually associated with the same.

We are ready to help whistleblowers who wish to report information on crime, corruption, illicit economic activity - whether in the public or private sector, as well as environmental risks that concern Africa. You may live or be based outside of Africa, and you do not need to be a citizen of an African country. As long as the information pertains to Africa, we are here to help.

When do you need legal assistance?

You should consider obtaining legal advice or assistance, whoever you are, if you are considering reporting to authorities or releasing to the public inside information on criminal, scandalous or unsafe activities – particularly if the information you have is confidential, classified, or an official or military secret.

You may also need legal assistance or defense if you already have been privately or publicly identified as a whistleblower. Sharing sensitive information may violate sovereign or corporate laws or expose you to danger if not done with legal advice and a highly secure technology system.

Please visit our page on the country case file, we might have done a preliminary research on your country.

What should you do if you need free legal assistance?

If you are considering or have already reported or disclosed sensitive information, contact us via the messaging service, online portal or hotline. We will connect you with the appropriate legal counsel at the local or international level, free of charge.

When do you need investigative, media or NGO assistance?

We recommend that you seek advice from our in-house team prior to contacting or sending information to the media or an NGO. We can advise whether this is the best route to take. In some cases, our team’s legal counsel can liaise on your behalf with a particular media outlet or advocacy organisation.

Though the media or an NGO can be the best vehicle to report wrongdoing in the public interest, care must be taken in how to approach them and deciding which information to send. Our in-house editorial and advocacy teams can help you find the right journalist or NGO to contact.

The information you want to disclose might not be enough to characterise the wrongdoing you want to expose. We can help you to assess that by deepening investigations.

What should you consider before disclosing any information to anyone?

Reporting or disclosing inside information, particularly if it is of a sensitive nature, can pose many risks to your job, profession, financial security, reputation and even your personal safety and the one of your family. We can help you assess and weigh these and other risks before you make a decision that could have serious unforeseen consequences.

Acting in haste, many employees and citizens have reported crimes or acts of corruption without first seeking professional advice. We are here to help you avoid this mistake.

If you have any questions, please connect us at: info@pplaaf.org

Why we are different

Many whistleblowing and “leaking” platforms operating today provide limited options and solutions for people who want to report crime or corruption. This can limit the impact of your disclosure, which may not reach the organization or person who can do the most good.

PPLAAF is different. We provide the full spectrum of legal, media, advocacy and other services catered to the specific needs of the whistleblower.

At the case-by-case level, we provide end-to-end encrypted communications, pro bono legal services, and defense against civil and criminal actions. We provide guidance on how to approach journalists and which ones to contact. If their story goes public, we provide continued assistance and protection for whistleblowers as their story develops in the media. Similarly, for media partners, we provide a thorough vetting of whistleblowers and their evidence before the story is published.

At the macro level, PPLAAF conceptualizes and advocates for new and improved whistleblower protection laws. We are working hand-and-hand with activists, legal expert and policy-makers across the continent to help ensure whistleblower policies protect all citizens and employees – regardless of where they live and work.